top of page

Top 10 Runventures of 2018

In no particular order...

1. Rabun Georgia Half Marathon/ Silverton Alpine Marathon

Why am I counting two races as one trail experience? Because I was lucky enough to run both with my best friend in the whole world! Marie and I first met in 8th grade, at a time when I was returning to school after some serious health problems and didn't have many friends. She had just moved to Central Florida from North Carolina. We joined cross country in ninth grade and had fun running the dirt road that separated our homes in the off season. She knew she wanted to do something big for her first marathon. Eventually we decided on the Silverton Alpine Marathon at the end of July (week after Hardrock), about a four hour drive from her home in Salida, CO. I had never been to the San Juans and was really excited! I suggested she join me for the Rabun Georgia Half Marathon in Northern Georgia in June as a training run, and magically, she was able to get away for a few days. I was so happy to be able to share such a grassroots (and tough as nails) race with her! We enjoyed hanging out in swimming hole near the finish line after the race.

We were both a bag of nerves by the time I arrived in Colorado a month later. She was nervous about her first marathon, and I was worried about how my body would react to running at 12,000 + feet. The day before the race, we headed to Silverton with a queen size air mattress blown up in the back of her SUV. Just another totally normal sleepover, right? We car camped at the base of Kendall Mountain, about a two minutes zip in the car from the start, and were the first people at packet pickup in the morning. It was a brisk morning, and totally different weather than the 95% percent humidity we had experienced in Georgia a month earlier. We had a little celebrity run-in right before the race, when Marie asked Jim Walmsley if there was still TP in the bathrooms. "Is he someone?" she asked, and I giggled.

The first few miles were on the road, heading from the town park in Silverton to the Alpine Loop; a 65 mile(ish) scenic unpaved byway through the San Juans. I could tell from the beginning that Marie was holding back to stay with me. I thought maybe we would do 4.5 miles in the first hour. We did 6. I did my best to keep up. About an hour in we were joined by Amy and Hunter, who were running the 50k, which had started an hour earlier. Amy asked if I was "Brad's friend Jenny" and I laughed at what a small world it was. She had recently made the move from Tennessee to Steamboat Springs, CO and was training for Run Rabbit. She had run the Georgia Death Race with Brad in 2015. We had fun run-hiking in a pack to the next aid station, around mile 12/13. It was at this point that the altitude really hit me and I felt the most out of breath. I told Marie to go, use her training, and stuffed my face with snacks and began the most touristy second half of a race ever. The San Juans really are incredible, and I wanted to photograph everything. The out of breath feeling didn't last long, and making the major ascents up towards California Pass I felt great. (Inclines are my happy place!) Hunter and I joined up again here, and made the joint decision that it looked like it was going to rain. We stopped and put on our rain shells, and almost immediately, it began to hail. It was comical, it was epic, and it really felt like being shot with a multitude of rice krispy size bullets. Shortly after Hurricane Pass, the storm turned electrical and I asked Hunter if we should find cover. It was much different than being caught in a thunderstorm on the East Coast, where the ever present canopy of trees gives the illusion of safety. We were totally exposed. He listened, counted the seconds between booms, and said we were ok. I put full trust into this because I really didn't see anywhere to hide anyways. We hustled. The descents were really steep at this point, and we zig-zagged across them in an attempt to spare our knees. Once we dropped down to lower elevation and found ourselves back on local roads heading into Silverton, the sky cleared and the course leveled out into gently rolling hills. Marie was waiting for me 100 yards from the finish (cheeseburger in hand) and we ran through the Aravaipa Running arch together. (Right before the sky opened up into a total downpour.) We spent the drive home swapping stories and it felt just like old cross country days. I can't wait for our next adventure!

2. Palmetto Expedition 10 hour (Mother's Day Marathon!)

In December 2017 Jenny Mac sent me a link to a first year event she was considering for her debut 50 miler. It wasn't advertised as a run or a race, but simply "a challenge." Complete 26.2 miles in 10 hours, or 50 miles in 20 hours on an out and back on the Palmetto Trail in low country South Carolina. I sent it to my mom and asked her if she wanted to do the marathon. It sounded like something fun we could do together! She agreed, and we were in. My mom has done a boatload of 5k's and a handful of half-marathons, but this would be something new for her. A month or so before the event, we received an email that the race location had been changed and the course would now consist of a 3.5 mile out and back to be completed multiple times throughout the day. We were all pissed. It sounded monotonous, and we would get to see so much less of the trail! This change ended up being a blessing in disguise. When Mother's Day weekend rolled around, the weather ended up being unseasonably warm. AKA: Blazing hot. As the event had been advertised as a "walk" and a "challenge" many participants were brand new to the world of endurance activities and were not prepared for the heat and measures needed to adequately hydrate and fuel. The continued close proximity to the event headquarters at the start of the trailhead made it easier for participants to access supplies and aid.

We had seen pictures of the trail and it looked relatively wide, flat, and even. I guessed we would be able to walk a pretty fast pace and finish in 8 to 9 hours, even with a healthy cushion of time for breaks at our "aid station." (In addition to Jenny, our friends Maggie, Kristen, and Brad were also participating, and thanks to Brad, we had a pretty badass aid station.) In summary: I thought it would be easy! It wasn't. The "little" dips and rises in the trail became massive hills as the day wore on, and that 3.5 mile stretch seemed to go on and on in the heat. We stopped between each lap to change out ice bandanas. About 3/4 of the way in our feet really began to take a beating. My mom began to develop blisters, which she thought meant that she was doing something wrong; (I explained to her that it was more like ritual induction into the cult of long distance trail sports) and I began to develop a heat rash on my feet that would later make its way up both of my legs. (Fun!) When we had about two miles left my mom expressed that the discomfort from her blisters was becoming unbearable. She was going to take her shoes off. I talked her down for about a mile (there were rocks and roots scattered everywhere) but eventually, there she was, walking determinedly, barefoot, down the trail. I was so proud. And happy to see that I come by my stubbornness (and tenacity?...) honestly. We were both so ready to be done! It ended up taking us about 9 and a half hours. We later learned that only about 50 percent of participants completed the Expedition that day and we were proud to have persevered through such a challenging day in the woods.

Lessons learned:

• Never assume something will be easy.

• Trust decisions made by event directors.

• My mom is a total badass.

3. Grindstone 3.0

I love this race and am so thankful to my friends for returning to support me chasing another buckle after last year's DNF. Blue Ridge, big mountains, pierogies, and the best crew made for an amazing weekend in VA. Bonus: we had a huge group this year, and I got to see so many friends on the out-and-back!

4. Art Loeb Trail in a day

Aimee had the idea to run the 31 mile Art Loeb trail in WNC for her birthday this year. We assembled a group and had a great day in the mountains. From beautiful views in the Shining Rock Wilderness, to getting lost in a tangle of blueberries, to magic popsicles on the Blue Ridge parkway, we had a day I'll never forget. We started at the Boy Scout Camp in Canton, NC and finished at the Davidson River Campground trailhead. It was perfect, as we hit all the most scenic spots (as well as the harder to navigate pieces of trail) towards the beginning of the day when we were clearheaded and had the best light. If we had had the energy when we finished, Davidson River is a great spot for a post-run soak or swim.

5. Blind Pig 100 (Pacer/Volunteer/Sweeper)

This was such an amazing weekend! My friend Marisa let me know that she was coming into town to pace and crew her friend Viviana for the Bling Pig 100. Brad would be running the 50k and I would be volunteering with him at the headquarters aid station during the late night hours after he had had some time to rest. Our other friend Amanda, would be coming into town early Sunday morning to pace Viviana for her final laps. (Blind Pig is a 9 mile loop course at Croft State Park in Spartanburg, SC.) I would be sweeping the loop Sunday morning. I didn't know Viviana very well, but I knew we were similarly matched in pace, as we had yo-yoed a lot at Chatt 100 in 2017, and I offered to pace if the need arose. I ended up volunteering at the aid station from dusk until around 2 am, before picking up Viviana for a couple of loops. She was in good spirits for the first loop and I had to jog to keep up with her power walking pace. I'm not sure how it happened, but I ended up singing Natasha Bedingfield's "Unwritten" to her at one point (the Laguna Beach theme song) and it became the anthem of the rest of the race. It was really (really) cold. We had bundled V in my ski shell at the last aid station and I spend the loop alternately holding it and putting it back on her. I was glad I had brought it! Coming in from that loop (around mile 73) she was full of energy and was ready for some coffee and ramen. We got to the aid station, she sat down, and before she could even bring the spoon to her mouth, she fell asleep. This was my first time being on the other side of a 100, and I was amazed at the speed with which she went from awake to asleep. Marisa and I roused her, made her drink some coffee and I grabbed a couple caffeine brownies for the loop. We had about 90 minutes until sunrise, when the temps would certainly be a little warmer. I promised her she could sleep for a bit then. We kept moving, taking lots of breaks for food and fluids, and when the sun finally began to peek into the sky, I told V it was nap time and she lay down in the leaves, zipped in to the ski shell. I set an alarm for five minutes on my phone. I felt bad waking her up when the five minutes were gone, but she was a new person! If I wasn't before, I am now a firm believer in the 5 minute nap! The rest of the loop passed quickly, and before we knew it, we were back at the bridge, singing Natasha Bedingfield and heading into the aid station. Marisa and Amanda joined her for her final miles and she cruised her way into a major 100 mile PR. I took a little power nap and Brad joined me for sweeping the flags once the final runner had left for their last loop. I loved experiencing the other side of a 100 miler. Preparing food, counting laps, pacing new friends, and sweeping the course in the golden sunshine with my all conditions best trail friend. So proud of Viviana!

6. Yeti Snakebite 50k

This was a really hard day for me. I thought the Palmetto Expedition had shown me my hottest day on the trails in 2018 but I was wrong!

Brad and I woke up at 3 am to drive to Atlanta for this race with fellow Upstater, Jennifer. (Why? Why did we do this?...) We were some of the first people at the park, so we got a great parking spot, but we were definitely NOT AWAKE. I wasn't sure how this race was going to go, as I had called it at the marathon mark at the Pisgah Fish Hatchery 50k the previous weekend and was still dealing with a pesky ankle sprain since the beginning of August. This would be my last long run before Grindstone though, and my first Yeti race, so I was not backing down! I don't know what I was thinking... but Yeti races have a reputation for being THE MOST FUN, and in my mind, fun means easy. The logic doesn't add up though, since I quantify even the hardest trail races as "fun." Anyways... this race was beautiful, and fun, but equally challenging. (AND HOT.) I've been told the course changes every year, but this year's route was 10.5 ish mile loop with 1,500 + ft of elevation per loop. The loop included some flat runnable sections but also some steep climbs and descents. My favorite part was a rocky section skirting Sweetwater Creek that made me feel like I was in a remote wilderness looking down at wild river rapids (instead of being mere miles from Six Flags Atlanta.) I felt pretty good through the first loop, but was aware that I was drinking a lot of water. I was refilling at every aid station and by mile 16 I was feeling faint. (Did I mention it was HOT?) Viviana and I had been together on the trails since the start and she suggested maybe I needed more food. I crammed whatever I could into my face. The going was slow. By the time we hit the aid station again at the end of the second loop I felt like I was going to black out. I sat on the ground, drank some soda, and dunked a piece of watermelon in salt. After a few minutes I got up and V and I began the trek up the small hill from the aid station to officially complete the loop. Almost immediately I knew I was going to hurl. (Fun fact: this is the first time I've unavoidably barfed during a running event.) Before I could even get Viviana's name out of my mouth I turned into a busted fire hydrant on the side of the trail. I had consumed a lot of fluids... too many fluids.... I felt so bad for all the people around me on the trail being forced to bear witness to my grossness. Almost immediately, I felt better, but still not the best, and apologized profusely to Viviana for slowing her down and being the worst. She was a hero and assured me we were sticking this one out together. The last loop was slow, but not as slow as the second. I still had to take a few breaks on various benches and once in the creek to cool down and catch my bearings, but we got it done. There is no way I could have gotten through those miles without Viviana. We finished and Brad was there with hugs and beers for us both. What a day! (V then went on and crushed Yeti 100 later that month.)

***You may be asking "Why is this race included in your BEST OF 2018???" The answer is: because it really was! Yeti races with friends are like holidays at home with your family. Even when you feel like shit and everything is the worst.... it's still the best.

7. Grayson Highlands 50k

Ponies, tequila, and an amazing group of friends to share it with! Grayson Highlands race weekend never disappoints. This year's 50k race was my best performance in 2018. I felt healthy, fast(ish), and had the fortune to spend the entire race with one of my favorite running friends, Ned! This race experience is my motivation to recover well and race healthy in 2019.

8. H9 50 (ish)

All runners have dreams about waking up late for a race. This August, that dream became a reality! I had fun pushing myself during this mostly solo day on the trails after starting the H9 50 about 45 minutes later than the rest of the field. This race is famous for tough climbs, hot and humid weather, poison ivy, and ultimately breaking people's spirits. Mother nature blessed us with unseasonably pleasant early fall weather this year, which made a slow day on the trails feel serene. I did eventually get to see many of my friends on the trail at Fish Gap, and ended up finishing DFL with a new (slowest recorded) course record of 19:59 - one minute before cutoff. Two years down towards the 5 year straight jacket!

9. Ville to Ville Craft Brew Relay

Not a trail race, but hands down one of my favorite memories of 2018 is doing the Ville to Ville Craft Brew Relay from Asheville, NC to Greenville, SC with my Oiselle South Carolina teammates. I was originally not signed up to run the relay, but stepped in when another bird couldn't make the trip. I ran a 6 mile leg and a ten mile leg and the roads certainly reminded me of their ability to kick my butt. (My car was the crew vehicle, and I was unable to take over as driver after my ten mile leg. I was toast!) From the early(AF) wake up, to navigating between exchanges, to gummy bears and coffee in the car, to the craft beer tent after, this is a day I'll never forget with women I love, admire, and am proud to call teammates.

10. Mt. Sterling Loop

Kelly and I took off work one Thursday this July and headed to the smokies. Discovered in a quick search on the Trail Run Project app, we ran the 18 mile loop up, down, and around Mount Sterling. (Click here for full route details.) We chose it because of the many swimming holes the loop boasted. (And because it was a loop!) The approach trail was flat and walled with berries on both sides. We almost immediately stumbled upon a bear cub having a snack. We backed up, waited, and peered around the corner after a minute or two. He was gone. Within ten minutes, we ran into another cub/teenager. It also ran off, and we ran into some hikers a minute or two later. Seeing other people killed our worries about a day of continued bear sightings. The trail began to climb steadily, and we passed Midnight Hole Falls; the first of many swimming holes in the Big Creek/Baxter Creek system. I really wanted to jump in! It was deep and the water was clear, but we were only a few miles into our trek. When we began the ascent up Mountain Sterling, a mist set in and it began to drizzle. With lush moss covering every surface, it felt like we were in the PNW. As we reached the top, the rain stopped but the mist stayed. There is a 60 ft fire tower at the top of Mt Sterling that apparently has one of the most complete panoramic views of the Smokies. We knew we wouldn't be able to see anything, but we climbed the questionably stable tower anyways. (Possibly the scariest thing I have ever done.) It was a bonding moment for Kelly and I! The rest of the loop breezed by relatively quickly and we were done before we even realized it. The sky had cleared and the sun came out the last few miles. We had amazing weather for our post-run soak in the creek. I can't wait to go back! 10/10 stars!

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page